Rock and Roll Bride party!

I was lucky enough to get one of the 200 tickets for the ‘Rock and Roll Bride party’ aka ‘Party of the Year!’, and I mean LUCKY as there were over 500 people applying for the tickets!

Now for those of you who don’t know who Kat of Rock and Roll Bride is (those of you who have been living under a rock in the dessert perhaps?) she is the amazing pink haired *well rainbow haired for the party* alternative wedding blogger – the byline for her blog says it all ‘Your Big Day, the Rock and Roll Way’ and boy is she one hell of a party hostess!

This is Kat and she is fantastic 🙂 (Picture borrowed from the Rock and Roll Bride site and taken by Jayne of Sacco and Sacco Photography)^^)

So on the 14th April I ironed my jeans – you know its something special when I willingly do the ironing! – put on some cute red vintage pumps and a navy blazer, packed up my masquerade ball mask (more on that later) and headed off to Graphic Bar in London’s Golden Square. I have to admit that I was sooo nervous to finally meet Kat – she is such an inspiration to me on a daily basis and it’s always a little intimidating to meet someone you admire online in the flesh!

I arrived at the bar at 6:45 after getting lost and chatted up by some builders working nearby – go me! Was still super nervous which was not helped by big baldy bouncer who couldn’t find my name on his list, I practically snatched his clipboard off of him and found it myself oops :-s 

The first person I saw as I stepped through the door and headed towards the bar was none other than Kat herself who was even more amazing in real life – she gave me a big hug, allowed me to admire her gorgeous Fur Coat No Knickers dress and we had a little chat before I wandered off to get myself a Rock and Roll Bride paint tin cocktail! I think even if I had needed to leave right then I would have gone home a very happy bunny 🙂 but of course I didn’t have to leave and so I got stuck in meeting so many great new people – from photographers and bloggers to the likes of make up artist Elbie who styles Kat’s makeup and is a real Rock and Roll Bride herself *her wedding is stunning* and she was very sweet.

A few gin based cocktails later and I was posing in the photobooth (with my red sparkly masquerade balll mask of course) with two of the other guests and heading over to check out the out of this world cupcakes by Restoration Cake and eventually set the ball rolling by being the first guest to take one out of the display – I chose the red velvet cake and have literally never tasted anything like it – I could easily sit here and eat them for dinner, followed by the peanut butter ones for dessert!

I was having so much fun that I didn’t even think to take any photographs *bad alex* but there will be plenty on the Rock and Roll Bride site tomorrow so do check in 🙂

Highlights of the night:

  • Fashion = Annabel of Love My Dress Blog looked ah-mazing in a custom made dress by Dana Bolton, she was simply stunning!
  • People = It’s strange to meet so many people who you stalk follow online but my favourite meets of the night were (aside from Kat!) were Sassy of Assassynation who will hopefully be our wedding photographer (she is great!), Alice of Alice in Weddingland fame (the RandR Bride Intern) and Joanne Fleming who is a fantastic Brighton based dress maker and is also wonderful!
  • Photobooth – Just watching other people posing was enough entertainment in itself – some hilarious pictures…

The event was a great chance to meet so many wonderful people from the wedding industry as well as plenty of brides to be like myself , the room was buzzing with wonderful creative people and I can’t wait for the next one, which will be bigger and better I’m sure! Thanks Kat 🙂

xxx

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. diydarlings
    May 01, 2011 @ 22:00:46

    It was super lovely to meet you too sweetness! Here’s to more chance meetings in the future! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

